Arcadia
Sails from Southampton, England · Fly into LHR
Page updated
Arcadia departing Tallinn, Estonia, June 2017 · Photo: Pjotr Mahhonin, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Arcadia is due to leave P&O Cruises' fleet in August 2029. P&O Cruises' fleet today · Retired and departing ships
About Arcadia
Arcadia is a P&O Cruises cruise ship of the Vista class, in service since 2005. She measures 84,342 gross tons and carries 1,952 guests with a crew of 866. She is due to leave the fleet in August 2029. We rate her 3.3 out of 5.
Arcadia is a Vista-class ship built by Fincantieri at Marghera, Italy, and originally intended for Holland America Line and then Cunard before Carnival assigned her to P&O Cruises during construction. She entered service in April 2005, named by Dame Kelly Holmes, and carries about 1,950 guests at about 84,300 gross tons; like Aurora she is reserved for adults. A 2008 refit at Lloyd Werft in Bremerhaven added 34 cabins at the stern, and she returned to the yard for a second refit in 2017. In October 2026 Carnival announced that she will leave P&O after a farewell season ending on 21 August 2029 and transfer to Holland America Line.
Ship facts
- Guests
- 1,952
- Crew 866 · 1:2.3
- Entered service
- 2005
- Leaving August 2029
- Length
- 290 m
- Longer than 73% of 575 ships
- Decks
- 11
Arcadia is bigger than 60% of the 418 cruise ships in service on Cruise Frog with a tonnage on record, and carries more guests than 69%. At 43.2 gross tons per guest she is roomier than 71% of 416; the median ship is 39.4.
Ratings
- Cabins
- 3/5, fleet average 3.3
- Dining
- 3/5, fleet average 3.0
- Entertainment
- 3/5, fleet average 3.1
- Service
- 4/5, fleet average 4.0
- Pools & decks
- 3/5, fleet average 3.0
- Value
- 4/5, fleet average 4.0
Editorial scores, 1 to 5 per metric; the overall is their average, not an average of reader reviews. Ticks mark the P&O Cruises fleet average across 7 rated ships in service.
More from P&O Cruises
The ships in the fleet closest to her in size.
3.2 ★Aurora2000 · 76,152 GT · 1,878 guestsAurora is the oldest and smallest ship in the P&O Cruises fleet, built by Meyer Werft in Papenburg, Germany, as an enlarged version of the earlier Oriana, with a tiered stern and…
3.3 ★Azura2010 · 115,055 GT · 3,096 guestsAzura is Ventura's sister, a modified Grand-class ship built by Fincantieri at Monfalcone and the only one of the class with a duck-tail stern. Named by Darcey Bussell, she…
3.3 ★Ventura2008 · 116,017 GT · 3,192 guestsVentura is a Grand-class ship built by Fincantieri at Monfalcone and, on entering service in April 2008, one of the largest cruise ships built for the British market. Named by…Deck plans & cabin locations
Official 2026–27 published deck plan · Published edition. Confirm the edition for your departure with the cruise line.
Explore the deck plans
What’s above your ceiling matters as much as the view. Compare the decks around your cabin, then use the location notes to build your shortlist.
The plan does not state a precise sailing-date validity window. Confirm this published edition with P&O for your voyage. The notes are evidence-based layout screening, not noise measurements or guarantees.
All decks
Official 2026–27 published deck plan · bow to the right
Cabin-number search becomes available as verified cabins are mapped. All published deck diagrams are available below.











Cabins to avoid & quieter candidates
Midship cabin sections on Decks 5, 6, 7, away from lifts, stairs and laundrettes
Quieter starting point: cabins between cabin decks
Start with cabin sections that have accommodation directly above and below, then compare the exact room on all three decks. This reduces exposure to public venue floors but does not guarantee silence.
Why we flag this
The official deck diagrams show accommodation across these decks and their adjacent cabin decks. Some cabin decks mix accommodation with public areas, so this recommendation applies to the cabin sections, not every room on an entire deck. Check the source plan.
Deck 8 beneath the public parts of Deck 9
Check cabins below the Lido public areas
If overhead activity is a concern, compare the exact cabin with pools, deck furniture and food-service areas above. Early setup and daytime activity may be audible; this is a layout-based caution, not a measured noise report.
Why we flag this
The published plan places Neptune Pool, Aquarius Pool and Belvedere buffet on Deck 9, with accommodation beneath on Deck 8. Check the location along the ship because not all cabins sit beneath the same feature. Check the source plan.
Deck 4 cabin sections directly above public areas on Deck 3
Check cabins above entertainment venues
For early nights or sensitivity to music, compare the exact room with the venue footprint below. Sound insulation and operating hours vary, and the plan alone cannot establish that a cabin is noisy.
Why we flag this
The official plan labels The Palladium, Screening Room and Grand Piano Bar on Deck 3; Deck 4 has accommodation above portions of that public deck. No exact affected cabin numbers or passenger noise complaints are asserted. Check the source plan.
Location-based guidance, not measured noise or a guarantee of quiet. Flags identify areas to investigate, not every cabin on a deck. Check the exact room, connecting doors, accessibility and the plan for your sailing date. Official P&O Cruises 2026–27 PDF linked from the ship deck explorer; each deck diagram extracted at 360 dpi.. Reviewed 2026-10-21.
Photos

Arcadia departing Tallinn, Estonia, June 2017Photo: Pjotr Mahhonin, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Flying in for your cruise?
Arcadia sails from Southampton, England. The airport is London Heathrow (LHR), with 40 lounges to wait in before you board.
- Emirates LoungeLHR Terminal 34.9 ★
- Plaza Premium Lounge (T4)LHR Terminal 44.9 ★
- Plaza Premium Lounge (T5)LHR Terminal 54.9 ★
Quick answers
Which cruise line operates Arcadia?
Arcadia is operated by P&O Cruises and belongs to its Vista class.
Is Arcadia leaving P&O Cruises?
Arcadia is due to leave P&O Cruises' fleet in August 2029.
How big is Arcadia?
Arcadia measures 84,342 gross tons and 290 metres in length, with 11 decks.
How does Arcadia compare in size with other cruise ships?
Arcadia is bigger than 60% of the 418 cruise ships in service on Cruise Frog with a tonnage on record, and carries more guests than 69%. At 43.2 gross tons per guest she is roomier than 71% of 416; the median ship is 39.4.
How crowded does Arcadia feel?
Arcadia has a passenger space ratio of 43.2: 84,342 gross tons for 1,952 guests. Ratios over 50 feel spacious and under 30 busy, so Arcadia feels comfortable for her size.
How many passengers does Arcadia carry?
Arcadia carries 1,952 guests at double occupancy, with a crew of 866 (about 2.3 guests per crew member).
When did Arcadia enter service?
Arcadia entered service in 2005 and was last refurbished in 2017.
Where does Arcadia sail?
Her home port is Southampton, England.
Which airport should I fly into for Arcadia?
Arcadia sails from Southampton, England. Fly into London Heathrow (LHR), which has 40 airport lounges listed on Lounge Frog.
Where can I find the deck plans for Arcadia?
P&O Cruises publishes the deck plans for Arcadia; this page links to Official interactive deck plans — confirm sailing edition and Official full ship deck plans (2026–27 edition).
How is Arcadia rated?
Cruise Frog rates Arcadia 3.3 out of 5 overall, the average of 6 editorial scores. She scores best on service (4/5) and lowest on pools & decks (3/5).
Which cabins are good choices on Arcadia?
For the “Official 2026–27 published deck plan” plan, start with these quieter-location candidates: Midship cabin sections on Decks 5, 6, 7, away from lifts, stairs and laundrettes: Start with cabin sections that have accommodation directly above and below, then compare the exact room on all three decks. This reduces exposure to public venue floors but does not guarantee silence. Compare the exact cabin with the decks above and below, nearby lifts and connecting doors. These are layout-based suggestions, not a guarantee of quiet.
Which cabins should I avoid or check carefully on Arcadia?
For the “Official 2026–27 published deck plan” plan, review these flagged locations before booking: Deck 8 beneath the public parts of Deck 9: If overhead activity is a concern, compare the exact cabin with pools, deck furniture and food-service areas above. Early setup and daytime activity may be audible; this is a layout-based caution, not a measured noise report. Deck 4 cabin sections directly above public areas on Deck 3: For early nights or sensitivity to music, compare the exact room with the venue footprint below. Sound insulation and operating hours vary, and the plan alone cannot establish that a cabin is noisy. These flags are not measured noise reports or a warning about every room on a deck. Read the sourced cabin advice for the evidence and any explicit operator warnings.
How can I check whether a cabin is under a pool, nightclub or theatre?
Find the cabin on the selected plan, then compare the same fore-and-aft position on the deck above and below. Check the full venue footprint, including outdoor seating, stages, service areas and entrances. Nearby activity can be a reason to investigate, but does not by itself prove a cabin is noisy. Use the cabin advice and its sources to distinguish layout cautions from operator warnings.
Where can I find Arcadia deck plans?
Use this guide’s deck selector to compare the decks around your cabin and open available diagrams in the zoom viewer. The full ship PDF and source links are listed for each plan edition.
Which deck-plan edition applies to my sailing?
Select your sailing date before comparing cabin locations. Editions can change after a refit. These answers use “Official 2026–27 published deck plan”, reviewed 2026-10-21. The plan does not state a precise sailing-date validity window. Confirm this published edition with P&O for your voyage. The notes are evidence-based layout screening, not noise measurements or guarantees.
Traveller reviews
What people who've been say. One review each; you can update yours.
Related news about Arcadia
- The 12 best adults-only cruise ships, ranked: 2026
Twelve ships where no child can board, from Viking Vela and Virgin's Lady ships to Saga's over-50s newbuilds and the British adults-only ships of P&O, Marella and Ambassador, ranked by our editorial scores.
Ship ranking
- P&O opens pre-registration for winter 2028–29 cruises
The collection reaches 130 destinations, with pre-registration through October 19 and general sale from October 21.
Itineraries