Britannia
Sails from Southampton, England · Fly into LHR
Page updated
Britannia at Merwehaven, Rotterdam, June 2019 · Photo: kees torn, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
About Britannia
Britannia is a P&O Cruises cruise ship of the Royal class, in service since 2015. She measures 143,730 gross tons and carries 3,647 guests with a crew of 1,398. She sails Caribbean itineraries. We rate her 3.3 out of 5.
Britannia is a Royal-class ship built by Fincantieri at Monfalcone, sharing her design with Princess Cruises' Royal class, and the flagship of P&O Cruises since she entered service on 14 March 2015, named by Queen Elizabeth II. At about 143,700 gross tons she carries about 3,650 guests in 1,837 cabins, including 27 single cabins, and every outside cabin has a balcony. She has 13 bars and 13 restaurants and cafés, including a cookery club developed by TV chef James Martin, and a pool for teenagers. A major refit in October 2019 added an art gallery and redesigned the atrium; in winter she sails 14-night Caribbean itineraries.
Ship facts
- Guests
- 3,647
- Crew 1,398 · 1:2.6
- Entered service
- 2015
- Refitted 2019
- Length
- 330 m
- Longer than 90% of 575 ships
- Decks
- 15
Britannia is bigger than 86% of the 418 cruise ships in service on Cruises Frog with a tonnage on record, and carries more guests than 89%. At 39.4 gross tons per guest she is roomier than 50% of 416; the median ship is 39.4.
Ratings
- Cabins
- 3/5, fleet average 3.3
- Dining
- 3/5, fleet average 3.0
- Entertainment
- 3/5, fleet average 3.1
- Service
- 4/5, fleet average 4.0
- Pools & decks
- 3/5, fleet average 3.0
- Value
- 4/5, fleet average 4.0
Editorial scores, 1 to 5 per metric; the overall is their average, not an average of reader reviews. Ticks mark the P&O Cruises fleet average across 7 rated ships in service.
More from P&O Cruises
The ships in the fleet closest to her in size.
3.3 ★Ventura2008 · 116,017 GT · 3,192 guestsVentura is a Grand-class ship built by Fincantieri at Monfalcone and, on entering service in April 2008, one of the largest cruise ships built for the British market. Named by…
3.3 ★Azura2010 · 115,055 GT · 3,096 guestsAzura is Ventura's sister, a modified Grand-class ship built by Fincantieri at Monfalcone and the only one of the class with a duck-tail stern. Named by Darcey Bussell, she…
3.7 ★Iona2021 · 184,089 GT · 5,206 guests · Northern Europe · Canary IslandsIona is an Excellence-class ship built by Meyer Werft in Papenburg, Germany, and the first ship for the British market powered by liquefied natural gas. Delivered in October…Deck plans & cabin locations
Official W28 published deck plan · Published edition. Confirm the edition for your departure with the cruise line.
Explore the deck plans
What’s above your ceiling matters as much as the view. Compare the decks around your cabin, then use the location notes to build your shortlist.
The plan does not state a precise sailing-date validity window. Confirm this published edition with P&O for your voyage. The notes are evidence-based layout screening, not noise measurements or guarantees.
All decks
Official W28 published deck plan · bow to the right
Cabin-number search becomes available as verified cabins are mapped. All published deck diagrams are available below.













Cabins to avoid & quieter candidates
Midship cabin sections on Decks 10, 11, 12, 14, away from lifts, stairs and laundrettes
Quieter starting point: cabins between cabin decks
Start with cabin sections that have accommodation directly above and below, then compare the exact room on all three decks. This reduces exposure to public venue floors but does not guarantee silence.
Why we flag this
The official deck diagrams show accommodation across these decks and their adjacent cabin decks. Some cabin decks mix accommodation with public areas, so this recommendation applies to the cabin sections, not every room on an entire deck. Check the source plan.
Deck 15 beneath the public parts of Deck 16
Check cabins below the Lido public areas
If overhead activity is a concern, compare the exact cabin with pools, deck furniture and food-service areas above. Early setup and daytime activity may be audible; this is a layout-based caution, not a measured noise report.
Why we flag this
The published plan places Lido pools and buffet dining on Deck 16, with accommodation beneath on Deck 15. Check the location along the ship because not all cabins sit beneath the same feature. Check the source plan.
Deck 8 cabin sections directly above public areas on Deck 7
Check cabins above entertainment venues
For early nights or sensitivity to music, compare the exact room with the venue footprint below. Sound insulation and operating hours vary, and the plan alone cannot establish that a cabin is noisy.
Why we flag this
The official plan labels Headliners Theatre, The Crystal Room and The Live Lounge on Deck 7; Deck 8 has accommodation above portions of that public deck. No exact affected cabin numbers or passenger noise complaints are asserted. Check the source plan.
Location-based guidance, not measured noise or a guarantee of quiet. Flags identify areas to investigate, not every cabin on a deck. Check the exact room, connecting doors, accessibility and the plan for your sailing date. Official P&O Cruises W28 PDF linked from the ship deck explorer; each deck diagram extracted at 360 dpi.. Reviewed 2026-10-21.
Photos

Britannia at Merwehaven, Rotterdam, June 2019Photo: kees torn, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Where she sails
Home port: Southampton, England.
Flying in for your cruise?
Britannia sails from Southampton, England. The airport is London Heathrow (LHR), with 40 lounges to wait in before you board.
- Emirates LoungeLHR Terminal 34.9 ★
- Plaza Premium Lounge (T4)LHR Terminal 44.9 ★
- Plaza Premium Lounge (T5)LHR Terminal 54.9 ★
Quick answers
Which cruise line operates Britannia?
Britannia is operated by P&O Cruises and belongs to its Royal class.
How big is Britannia?
Britannia measures 143,730 gross tons and 330 metres in length, with 15 decks.
How does Britannia compare in size with other cruise ships?
Britannia is bigger than 86% of the 418 cruise ships in service on Cruises Frog with a tonnage on record, and carries more guests than 89%. At 39.4 gross tons per guest she is roomier than 50% of 416; the median ship is 39.4.
How crowded does Britannia feel?
Britannia has a passenger space ratio of 39.4: 143,730 gross tons for 3,647 guests. Ratios over 50 feel spacious and under 30 busy, so Britannia feels comfortable for her size.
How many passengers does Britannia carry?
Britannia carries 3,647 guests at double occupancy, with a crew of 1,398 (about 2.6 guests per crew member).
When did Britannia enter service?
Britannia entered service in 2015 and was last refurbished in 2019.
Where does Britannia sail?
Britannia sails Caribbean itineraries. Her home port is Southampton, England.
Which airport should I fly into for Britannia?
Britannia sails from Southampton, England. Fly into London Heathrow (LHR), which has 40 airport lounges listed on Lounge Frog.
Where can I find the deck plans for Britannia?
P&O Cruises publishes the deck plans for Britannia; this page links to Official interactive deck plans — confirm sailing edition and Official full ship deck plans (W28 published edition).
How is Britannia rated?
Cruises Frog rates Britannia 3.3 out of 5 overall, the average of 6 editorial scores. She scores best on service (4/5) and lowest on pools & decks (3/5).
Which cabins are good choices on Britannia?
For the “Official W28 published deck plan” plan, start with these quieter-location candidates: Midship cabin sections on Decks 10, 11, 12, 14, away from lifts, stairs and laundrettes: Start with cabin sections that have accommodation directly above and below, then compare the exact room on all three decks. This reduces exposure to public venue floors but does not guarantee silence. Compare the exact cabin with the decks above and below, nearby lifts and connecting doors. These are layout-based suggestions, not a guarantee of quiet.
Which cabins should I avoid or check carefully on Britannia?
For the “Official W28 published deck plan” plan, review these flagged locations before booking: Deck 15 beneath the public parts of Deck 16: If overhead activity is a concern, compare the exact cabin with pools, deck furniture and food-service areas above. Early setup and daytime activity may be audible; this is a layout-based caution, not a measured noise report. Deck 8 cabin sections directly above public areas on Deck 7: For early nights or sensitivity to music, compare the exact room with the venue footprint below. Sound insulation and operating hours vary, and the plan alone cannot establish that a cabin is noisy. These flags are not measured noise reports or a warning about every room on a deck. Read the sourced cabin advice for the evidence and any explicit operator warnings.
How can I check whether a cabin is under a pool, nightclub or theatre?
Find the cabin on the selected plan, then compare the same fore-and-aft position on the deck above and below. Check the full venue footprint, including outdoor seating, stages, service areas and entrances. Nearby activity can be a reason to investigate, but does not by itself prove a cabin is noisy. Use the cabin advice and its sources to distinguish layout cautions from operator warnings.
Where can I find Britannia deck plans?
Use this guide’s deck selector to compare the decks around your cabin and open available diagrams in the zoom viewer. The full ship PDF and source links are listed for each plan edition.
Which deck-plan edition applies to my sailing?
Select your sailing date before comparing cabin locations. Editions can change after a refit. These answers use “Official W28 published deck plan”, reviewed 2026-10-21. The plan does not state a precise sailing-date validity window. Confirm this published edition with P&O for your voyage. The notes are evidence-based layout screening, not noise measurements or guarantees.
Traveller reviews
What people who've been say. One review each; you can update yours.
Related news about Britannia
Nothing about Britannia yet. The latest cruise news:
- We aged every ship at 10 big cruise lines. Holland America and Carnival have the oldest fleets
Cruise Frog's ship data shows how old each big line's fleet really is. Virgin's ships average about three years. Holland America's average 18.
Cruise lines
- Seabourn is going back to Egypt after more than five years, with a night in Alexandria for the pyramids
Seabourn's 2029 summer program has 166 sailings. It returns to Egypt, adds a new Gulf of Bothnia trip and brings Seabourn Encore back to Alaska.
Itineraries
- Carnival's new FunPacks run $25 to $99 a day, and drink and Wi-Fi prices go dynamic Dec. 1
Carnival bundled drinks, Wi-Fi, dining and shore trips into four FunPacks, on sale until Oct. 30. From Dec. 1, drink and Wi-Fi prices change by sailing.
Cruise lines
- Queen Mary 2's 500th crossing will leave from Liverpool, a first for Cunard since 2015
Cunard opened 93 voyages for October 2028 to May 2029. The headline act is Queen Mary 2's 500th Transatlantic Crossing, with a rare Liverpool departure.
Itineraries