Iona
Sails from Southampton, England · Fly into LHR
Page updated
Iona at Cádiz, Spain · Photo: A Guy Named Nyal (Flickr), CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
About Iona
Iona is a P&O Cruises cruise ship of the Excellence class, in service since 2021. She measures 184,089 gross tons and carries 5,206 guests with a crew of 1,762. She sails Northern Europe, Canary Islands, Norwegian Fjords itineraries. We rate her 3.7 out of 5.
Iona is an Excellence-class ship built by Meyer Werft in Papenburg, Germany, and the first ship for the British market powered by liquefied natural gas. Delivered in October 2020, she waited out the pandemic until her maiden voyage from Southampton on 7 August 2021. At about 184,100 gross tons she carries about 5,200 guests, with 17 places to eat, 12 bars and the SkyDome, a glass-roofed pool and entertainment venue with a retractable stage. She sails from Southampton, usually to the Canary Islands and northern Europe, with Norwegian fjords cruises and her first Caribbean visit in 2025; a dry-dock refurbishment followed in Rotterdam in October 2025.
Ship facts
- Guests
- 5,206
- Crew 1,762 · 1:3.0
- Entered service
- 2021
- Refitted 2025
- Length
- 344 m
- Longer than 96% of 575 ships
- Decks
- 19
Iona is bigger than 96% of the 418 cruise ships in service on Cruise Frog with a tonnage on record, and carries more guests than 97%. At 35.4 gross tons per guest she is tighter than 66% of 416; the median ship is 39.4.
Ratings
- Cabins
- 4/5+0.7, fleet average 3.3
- Dining
- 3/5, fleet average 3.0
- Entertainment
- 4/5+0.9, fleet average 3.1
- Service
- 4/5, fleet average 4.0
- Pools & decks
- 3/5, fleet average 3.0
- Value
- 4/5, fleet average 4.0
Editorial scores, 1 to 5 per metric; the overall is their average, not an average of reader reviews. Ticks mark the P&O Cruises fleet average across 7 rated ships in service.
Sister ships: Excellence class
Iona is one of 2 Excellence class ships. Arvia (2022) is in service.
| Ship | Year | Gross tons | Guests | Space | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iona this ship | 2021 | 3.7/5 | |||
| Arvia | 2022 | 3.7/5 |
Deck plans & cabin locations
Official W28 published deck plan · Published edition. Confirm the edition for your departure with the cruise line.
Explore the deck plans
What’s above your ceiling matters as much as the view. Compare the decks around your cabin, then use the location notes to build your shortlist.
The plan does not state a precise sailing-date validity window. Confirm this published edition with P&O for your voyage. The notes are evidence-based layout screening, not noise measurements or guarantees.
All decks
Official W28 published deck plan · bow to the right
Cabin-number search becomes available as verified cabins are mapped. All published deck diagrams are available below.
















Cabins to avoid & quieter candidates
Midship cabin sections on Decks 10, 11, 12, 14, away from lifts, stairs and laundrettes
Quieter starting point: cabins between cabin decks
Start with cabin sections that have accommodation directly above and below, then compare the exact room on all three decks. This reduces exposure to public venue floors but does not guarantee silence.
Why we flag this
The official deck diagrams show accommodation across these decks and their adjacent cabin decks. Some cabin decks mix accommodation with public areas, so this recommendation applies to the cabin sections, not every room on an entire deck. Check the source plan.
Deck 15 beneath the public parts of Deck 16
Check cabins below the Lido public areas
If overhead activity is a concern, compare the exact cabin with pools, deck furniture and food-service areas above. Early setup and daytime activity may be audible; this is a layout-based caution, not a measured noise report.
Why we flag this
The published plan places SkyDome Pool, Horizon Restaurant and aft Infinity Pool on Deck 16, with accommodation beneath on Deck 15. Check the location along the ship because not all cabins sit beneath the same feature. Check the source plan.
Deck 5 cabin sections directly below public areas on Deck 6
Check cabins below entertainment venues
For early nights or sensitivity to music, compare the exact room with the venue footprint above. Sound insulation and operating hours vary, and the plan alone cannot establish that a cabin is noisy.
Why we flag this
The official plan labels the Limelight Club, Emerald Bar and Grand Atrium on Deck 6; Deck 5 has accommodation below portions of that public deck. No exact affected cabin numbers or passenger noise complaints are asserted. Check the source plan.
Deck 8 balconies alongside the public promenade
Promenade cabins: check privacy and passing traffic
Compare the cabin symbol and walking route if balcony privacy matters. Passing guests and nearby outdoor venues may make some promenade-facing locations less private.
Why we flag this
Deck 8 is labelled Promenade Deck in the official PDF and includes cabins, outdoor dining and public walking routes. Its cabin legend marks balconies visible from the Promenade Deck. Check the source plan.
Location-based guidance, not measured noise or a guarantee of quiet. Flags identify areas to investigate, not every cabin on a deck. Check the exact room, connecting doors, accessibility and the plan for your sailing date. Official P&O Cruises W28 PDF linked from the ship deck explorer; each deck diagram extracted at 360 dpi.. Reviewed 2026-10-21.
Photos

Iona at Cádiz, SpainPhoto: A Guy Named Nyal (Flickr), CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Where she sails
- Northern Europethe Baltic, British Isles and Iceland, May to September
- Canary Islandswinter sun off North Africa, often with Madeira and Morocco
- Norwegian Fjordsfjords and the North Cape, with midnight sun in summer
Home port: Southampton, England.
Flying in for your cruise?
Iona sails from Southampton, England. The airport is London Heathrow (LHR), with 40 lounges to wait in before you board.
- Emirates LoungeLHR Terminal 34.9 ★
- Plaza Premium Lounge (T4)LHR Terminal 44.9 ★
- Plaza Premium Lounge (T5)LHR Terminal 54.9 ★
Quick answers
Which cruise line operates Iona?
Iona is operated by P&O Cruises and belongs to its Excellence class.
What are Iona's sister ships?
Iona is one of 2 Excellence class ships. Arvia (2022) is in service.
How big is Iona?
Iona measures 184,089 gross tons and 344 metres in length, with 19 decks.
How does Iona compare in size with other cruise ships?
Iona is bigger than 96% of the 418 cruise ships in service on Cruise Frog with a tonnage on record, and carries more guests than 97%. At 35.4 gross tons per guest she is tighter than 66% of 416; the median ship is 39.4.
How crowded does Iona feel?
Iona has a passenger space ratio of 35.4: 184,089 gross tons for 5,206 guests. Ratios over 50 feel spacious and under 30 busy, so Iona feels comfortable for her size.
How many passengers does Iona carry?
Iona carries 5,206 guests at double occupancy, with a crew of 1,762 (about 3.0 guests per crew member).
When did Iona enter service?
Iona entered service in 2021 and was last refurbished in 2025.
Where does Iona sail?
Iona sails Northern Europe, Canary Islands and Norwegian Fjords itineraries. Her home port is Southampton, England.
Which airport should I fly into for Iona?
Iona sails from Southampton, England. Fly into London Heathrow (LHR), which has 40 airport lounges listed on Lounge Frog.
Where can I find the deck plans for Iona?
P&O Cruises publishes the deck plans for Iona; this page links to Official interactive deck plans — confirm sailing edition and Official full ship deck plans (W28 published edition).
How is Iona rated?
Cruise Frog rates Iona 3.7 out of 5 overall, the average of 6 editorial scores. She scores best on cabins (4/5) and lowest on pools & decks (3/5).
Which cabins are good choices on Iona?
For the “Official W28 published deck plan” plan, start with these quieter-location candidates: Midship cabin sections on Decks 10, 11, 12, 14, away from lifts, stairs and laundrettes: Start with cabin sections that have accommodation directly above and below, then compare the exact room on all three decks. This reduces exposure to public venue floors but does not guarantee silence. Compare the exact cabin with the decks above and below, nearby lifts and connecting doors. These are layout-based suggestions, not a guarantee of quiet.
Which cabins should I avoid or check carefully on Iona?
For the “Official W28 published deck plan” plan, review these flagged locations before booking: Deck 15 beneath the public parts of Deck 16: If overhead activity is a concern, compare the exact cabin with pools, deck furniture and food-service areas above. Early setup and daytime activity may be audible; this is a layout-based caution, not a measured noise report. Deck 5 cabin sections directly below public areas on Deck 6: For early nights or sensitivity to music, compare the exact room with the venue footprint above. Sound insulation and operating hours vary, and the plan alone cannot establish that a cabin is noisy. Deck 8 balconies alongside the public promenade: Compare the cabin symbol and walking route if balcony privacy matters. Passing guests and nearby outdoor venues may make some promenade-facing locations less private. These flags are not measured noise reports or a warning about every room on a deck. Read the sourced cabin advice for the evidence and any explicit operator warnings.
How can I check whether a cabin is under a pool, nightclub or theatre?
Find the cabin on the selected plan, then compare the same fore-and-aft position on the deck above and below. Check the full venue footprint, including outdoor seating, stages, service areas and entrances. Nearby activity can be a reason to investigate, but does not by itself prove a cabin is noisy. Use the cabin advice and its sources to distinguish layout cautions from operator warnings.
Where can I find Iona deck plans?
Use this guide’s deck selector to compare the decks around your cabin and open available diagrams in the zoom viewer. The full ship PDF and source links are listed for each plan edition.
Which deck-plan edition applies to my sailing?
Select your sailing date before comparing cabin locations. Editions can change after a refit. These answers use “Official W28 published deck plan”, reviewed 2026-10-21. The plan does not state a precise sailing-date validity window. Confirm this published edition with P&O for your voyage. The notes are evidence-based layout screening, not noise measurements or guarantees.
Traveller reviews
What people who've been say. One review each; you can update yours.
Related news about Iona
Nothing about Iona yet. The latest cruise news:
- We aged every ship at 10 big cruise lines. Holland America and Carnival have the oldest fleets
Cruise Frog's ship data shows how old each big line's fleet really is. Virgin's ships average about three years. Holland America's average 18.
Cruise lines
- Seabourn is going back to Egypt after more than five years, with a night in Alexandria for the pyramids
Seabourn's 2029 summer program has 166 sailings. It returns to Egypt, adds a new Gulf of Bothnia trip and brings Seabourn Encore back to Alaska.
Itineraries
- Carnival's new FunPacks run $25 to $99 a day, and drink and Wi-Fi prices go dynamic Dec. 1
Carnival bundled drinks, Wi-Fi, dining and shore trips into four FunPacks, on sale until Oct. 30. From Dec. 1, drink and Wi-Fi prices change by sailing.
Cruise lines
- Queen Mary 2's 500th crossing will leave from Liverpool, a first for Cunard since 2015
Cunard opened 93 voyages for October 2028 to May 2029. The headline act is Queen Mary 2's 500th Transatlantic Crossing, with a rare Liverpool departure.
Itineraries